Board of Directors

Those members who are interested in VGEC leadership are encouraged to join one of the Operational Committees as this is a great way to learn how the VGEC operates. We do encourage all who are interested to contact Duke DuTeil, president of the Board, at to express interest in volunteering.

Each Board member is asked to serve in a leadership role in at least one of the Operational Committees of the VGEC. The Board meets bi-monthly and as needed using the online meeting services. The Board also meets in person during the Annual Conference.

The VGEC Board of Directors is an active group of eleven members of the Guild who are elected or appointed. The Board is governed by the VGEC Bylaws and it operates strictly under the directions specified there.

According to Article V and Article VI of the Bylaws, the Board has nine elected members and ex-officio non-voting members. The nine elected members are each in classes of three members who each serve for three year terms. A board member may serve for six consecutive years and is not eligible to stand for election for at least one year.

The Board of Directors for 2023 are:

Board President
Mr. Duke DuTeil, St Richard's Episcopal Church, Round Rock ,TX,, Board Term expires: 2026

Board Vice President
Ms Diane Grayson Carlisle, Epiphany Parish of Seattle, Seattle, WA,, Board Term Expires: 2024

Board Secretary
Ms. Jennie Garcia, St Aidan's Episcopal Church, Boulder, CO,, Board Term Expires 2026

Board Treasurer
Mr. William Sommers, St David's Episcopal Church, San Antonio, TX,, Board Term Expires: 2025 

Member - Governance
Dr. Marshall Binns, The Cathedral of St. John in Albuquerque, NM,, Board Term Expires: 2024

Member - Communicatons
Mr. Michael Sanchez , Christ's Episcopal Church, Lake Oswego, OR,, Board Term Expires 2025

Member - Chapters
Mr. Thurl Headen, Cathedral Church of St Luke, Portland, ME,, Board Term Expires: 2024

Member - Nominations
Mr. Donald Parsons, St. Anne's Episcopal Church, Lowell, MA,, Board Term Expires: 2025

Member - IT
Mr. Albert "Albie" Bell. Christ Church Cranbrook Bloomfield Hills, MI,, Board Term Expires 2026

Ex Officio
Past President
Mr. Scott Smith, Trinity Church Wall Street, New York, NY,

The Rev. Shug Goodlow, St Martin's Episcopal Church, Ellisville, MO,