Annual Conference

We are NOT Heading to Seattle Washington in September 2021

Many of you have been asking when registration will be open for the Vergers Conference in Seattle this September.  At the most recent VGEC board meeting we came to conclusion that having an in-person VGEC Annual Conference in 2021 would be practically, logistically, and safely impossible.

Seattle has been hit hard during the pandemic. A few of the churches have started reopening with limited worship opportunities and are still restricting indoor meetings. The ability to worship together, meet together, and sit down for a meal together is non-existent.  Additionally, the infrastructure of Seattle has taken a major hit with many businesses and restaurants boarded up and it is unclear if and when they will resume operation or what that will look like when they do.

Last year we tried our hand at an online annual conference/business meeting.  We learned a lot doing that and our online corporate knowledge has increased since then. We are looking forward to expanding our online offering.  Planning for a spectacular virtual conference has begun. Our Annual Conference and Communication committees are planning to bring us an awesome event this September with worship, seminars, a keynote speaker, and social opportunities. Please keep them in your prayers and stand by for more information on our virtual conference in the coming months.

About the VGEC Annual Conferences

One of the most anticipated and popular activities of the Vergers Guild of the Episcopal Church is our annual conference which takes place at a member parish each year.

These exciting events are normally held Thursday through Sunday in late September to mid-October. Each conference has a series of sessions that cover several topics of interest to the verger and several events that foster fellowship, learning, and worship during the weekend.

Each conference culminates with a festival Holy Eucharist with a procession of all vergers in attendance. Each conference has an official conference photo to commemorate the weekend. Photos for all past conferences are located HERE.

Future Conferences

If you are interested in hosting a VGEC Annual Conference, please contact John Whitaker, chair of the VGEC Conference Committee [email protected]. You will be asked to submit this VGEC Annual Conference proposal document as part of the process.



2015 St. Louis, Missouri
2014 Burlington, Ontario Canada
2013 Nashville, Tennessee
2012 Lakeland, Florida
2011 Cleveland, Ohio 
2010 Washington, DC
2009 San Diego, California
2008 Burlington, Vermont
2007 Albuquerque, New Mexico
2006 Boca Raton, Florida
2005 Sewanee, Tennessee
2004 Dallas, Texas
2003 Lexington, Kentucky
2002 Denver, Colorado
2001 Overland Park, Kansas
2000 Vancouver, BC Canada
1999 Jackson, Mississippi
1998 Houston, Texas
1997 New York City, New York
1996 Atlanta, Georgia
1995 Spokane, Washington
1994 Indianapolis, Indiana
1993 Miami, Florida
1992 St Louis, Missouri
1991 Phoenix, Arizona
1990 San Francisco, California
1989 Nashville, Tennessee, Inaugural Conference